Info, news and explanations at a glance

NATO basic knowledge

NATO ("North Atlantic Treaty Organization" - translated roughly as "North Atlantic Alliance") was founded in 1949 as a security alliance against the Soviet Union. At that time, it consisted of 12 European and North American countries.

After the end of the Cold War and the subsequent disintegration of the Soviet Union, several Eastern European countries joined NATO.

With the collapse of the Soviet Union, NATO's orientation changed. However, joint defense against external threats remains a core component of the alliance.

According to the NATO treaty, attacks on one of the member states are considered an attack on all countries in the alliance.

Part of NATO are: Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United States, United Kingdom.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info